Better Flour for Quality Baked Products

Established way back in 1923 and a member of the Stern-Wywiol Gruppe since 1990, Mühlenchemie is one of the world’s best-known enterprises in the field of flour improvement.

Mühlenchemie’s core field of competence is developing solutions for standardizing and optimizing flours – from classic flour treatment to concentrates for ready-mixed flours.

Mühlenchemie puts great effort into maintaining and strengthening its leading position in the market. We are constantly widening our know-how to ensure that we are always among the leaders in technical development.

Read on: Everything revolves on our customers’ wishes | Enterprise: the spirit of our employees | We think and act internationally

Global Miller's Symposium 20. – 21. April 2017 Hamburg,Germany

For more info’s visit www.global-millers-symposium.com

Mühlenchemie News

Illustration

20.3.2016

TURKISH BREAD SPECIALTY

Turkish bakers have always known how to make creative use of wheat flour: rings of bread coated with sesame seeds, flaky pastry pouches dipped in syrup or filled flat bread – bakery products are one of the mainstays of the Turkish cuisine. But by far the most popular wheat product, and the one most often consumed, is ekmek – a light coloured wheat loaf weighing about 350 grams with a distinct elongated shred. A meal without ekmek is unthinkable in Turkey, whether at home or in a restaurant. On almost every street corner there is a bakery where these golden brown loaves of bread are produced. But as far as the recipe is concerned, the bakers are bound by government regulations. The rule is “less salt, high-fibre flours”.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

22.2.2016

FILIPINO PANDESAL

Pandesal is the most popular local bread in the Philippines. It is the Spanish term for “salt bread”, since the name originated during the 16th century Spanish colonial era. Most bakeries all over the country, from small backyard establishments to industrial bakeries, produce and sell this bread. This staple food has become part of the typical Filipino breakfast as a substitute for rice. Four pieces of pandesal are equivalent to one cup of rice. Consumers like pandesal to be served hot and freshly baked from the oven. They expect it to have a soft crumb texture and a slightly crunchy crust that is light brown in colour.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

28.1.2016

Algerians have a weakness for French baguettes

Algerians love French baguettes more than any other nation. Although couscous and flat bread are part of the daily diet too, in this biggest country of the African continent, the unchallenged leader in the field of wheat products is baguette à la française. If statistical projections are to be believed, 49 million baguettes pass over the shop counter every day. That would mean each of the 38 million Algerians eats, on average, more than one whole loaf of this white bread every day. Compared with these quantities, consumption in France is nothing if not meagre: the French eat less than one baguette a day.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

14.10.2015

Iranian consumers getting a taste for western bread specialities

Flat bread is far and away the most popular kind of bread in Iran. But especially in the middle class, interest in western baking traditions is growing. Entering this segment can be an interesting opportunity for Iranian bakeries, since the so called “fantasy breads” are not subject to state price controls, unlike subsidised flat bread.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

4.9.2015

Pão Francês: Brazilian Bread Rolls with a French History

Pão Francês – “French bread” – is the most popular bread in Brazil. But no Brazilian consumer would expect his baker to sell him a large loaf or a traditional French baguette if he asks for Pão Francês. Instead, he will find himself with light-coloured wheat rolls that only have a French-sounding name for historical reasons.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

4.9.2015

Argentinians have a preference for traditionally baked pan bread without a crust

The product of choice among Argentinian consumers is crustless pan bread, which they buy from small, artisan bakeries and eat as sandwiches. Important quality attributes of these loaves are a strong white color, a long shelf-life and a fine, homogeneous texture. In the production process, special attention must be given to adequate mixing and carefully adjusted dough preparation in order to achieve the necessary uniform crumb structure.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

8.5.2015

Rye bread: dough acidification is indispensable for reasons of flavour, even with low-enzyme flours

Germany’s mills and bakeries are inconceivable without rye flour. German consumers love their dark, rustic rye loaves that contain 50 to 100 percent rye flour, depending on the type. But the quality of these flours has changed noticeably in recent years. The low enzyme content, especially, can cause problems with acidified doughs. The remedy lies in specific adjustment of the dough preparation method and suitable flour treatment.
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

7.5.2015

The Economic Impact of Flour Fortification with Folate

Mühlenchemie promotes the mandatory enrichment of flour with folic acid in order to cut in half the incidence of spina bifida, which currently affects about 5500 newborns in Europe each year.
On 22 April 2015 at the 20th International "Healthy grain for a healthy diet" conference, Dr. Lutz Popper gave a presentation entitled "The Economic Impact of Flour Fortification with Folate". 
Presentation
Event

Illustration

15.4.2015

Pasta: dynamic growth market for Nigeria’s mills

Hungarian consumers show little inclination to experiment when it comes to buying bread. They generally choose traditional, light-colored wheat bread and prefer good, inexpensive standard products with a soft-textured crumb and large volume. 
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

15.4.2015

Chinese steamed bread: quality products need quality flour

Steamed bread is a popular staple food in many parts of China. A host of variants exist that are eaten for breakfast or as a snack between meals. Consumers expect a large volume, a near-to-white surface, a fine crumb structure and a symmetrical shape. Besides the recipe and the mode of preparation, the properties of the flour are extremely important for the quality of the end products. 
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

30.1.2015

White hearth remains Hungary’s uncontested number one

Hungarian consumers show little inclination to experiment when it comes to buying bread. They generally choose traditional, light-colored wheat bread and prefer good, inexpensive standard products with a soft-textured crumb and large volume. 
Read the complete article ...

Illustration

30.1.2015

Mühlenchemie wants to expand in the pasta market

The German company is also specialised in enzyme-containing compounds for pasta flours. It has recently opened a trials laboratory for pasta thus considerably expanding its efforts in this field. Mühlenchemie sees the interlocking of expertise in raw materials and plant and equipment as a promising way to advance the development of innovations and product optimizations for the pasta market. Pasta-magazine wanted to learn more from the head of Research & Development at Mühlenchemie, Dr. Lutz Popper, about this global player's vision for the future. 
Read the complete article ...

Mühlenchemie product video (english), February 2014

Strong quality with weak grist – EMCEgluten Enhancer at work.

The team under Dr. Lutz Popper, head of Research & Development, seeks the optimum treatment for mixtures of flours from two types of grain containing different amounts of protein. The film shows examples of how the experts go about finding cost-effective solutions for their customers with exhaustive rheological tests and baking trials.

23.01.2014

A new pilot plant for pasta widens the range of customer services

With its new pilot plant, Mühlenchemie GmbH & Co. KG offers pasta manufacturers an additional service. At the pasta laboratory in Ahrensburg, customers can now verify the possible effects of enzymes and other additives on noodle products before the start of commercial production. The pilot plant simulates the industrial production process.
Read the complete article ...

Mühlenchemie's corporate film, November 2011

Flour improvement around the world –
from the customer's problem to Mühlenchemie's solution

North German Television broadcast, February 2011

From flour improvers to a flour sack museum:

Volkmar Wywiol documents the cultural heritage of the international milling community.

Der Unternehmensfilm
der Mühlenchemie

Unser Unternehmensfilm „Flour Fine tuning for all the mills of the world“.

Hier können Sie sich unseren Unternehmensfilm „Flour Fine tuning for all the mills of the world“ ansehen (12 Min.)

Erleben Sie die größte Mehlsack-sammlung der Welt.

flour art museum - Eine weltumspannende Galerie der Mehlsäcke

flour art museum - Eine weltumspannende Galerie der Mehlsäcke
Das Buch zur Sammlung in Englisch/Deutsch. In dritter, erweiterter Auflage mit über 2400 Mehlsäcken aus 121 Ländern, zum Bestellen!

Besseres Mehl für hochwertige Backwaren

Die Mühlenchemie, die bereits 1923 gegründet wurde und seit 1990 zur Stern-Wywiol Gruppe gehört, ist eines der weltweit renommiertesten Unternehmen auf dem Gebiet der Mehlbehandlung.

Die Kernkompetenz der Mühlenchemie ist das Erarbeiten von Lösungen für die Mehlstandardisierung und Mehlverbesserung – von der klassischen Mehlbehandlung bis hin zu Konzentraten für Fertigmehle.

Die Mühlenchemie arbeitet aktiv daran, ihre führende Stellung am Markt zu erhalten und auszubauen. Wir erweitern unser Know-how ständig, um jederzeit an der Spitze der technologischen Entwicklung zu stehen.

Lesen Sie weiter: Wir konzentrieren uns auf die Wünsche unserer Kunden | Unsere Mitarbeiter handeln wie Unternehmer | Unser Denken und Handeln ist international

Mühlenchemie News

Illustration

20.3.2016

Turkish Bread Speciality

Mit Weizenmehl wissen die türkischen Bäcker seit jeher kreativ umzugehen: Ob in Sesam gehüllte Teigkringel, Sirup-getränkte Blätterteigtaschen oder gefüllte Teigfladen - Backwaren sind ein Hauptpfeiler der türkischen Küche. Doch das mit Abstand beliebteste und meistverzehrte Weizenprodukt ist Ekmek - ein helles, rund 350 Gramm schweres Weißbrot mit einem ausgeprägten länglichen Ausbund. Eine Mahlzeit ohne Ekmek ist in der Türkei undenkbar - egal, ob Zuhause oder im Restaurant. An fast jeder Straßenecke gibt es eine Brotbäckerei, in der die goldbraunen Laibe gebacken werden. Bezüglich der Rezeptur sind die Bäcker jedoch an staatliche Regularien gebunden: „Weniger Salz, ballaststoffreichere Mehle“, lauten die gesetzlichen Vorgaben.
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

22.2.2016

Philippinisches Pan de Sal

Pan de Sal ist die beliebteste einheimische Brotsorte auf den Philippinen. Der Name stammt noch aus der Kolonialzeit der Spanier im 16. Jahrhundert und leitet sich aus dem spanischen Wort für "Salzbrot" ab. Diese kleinen Brötchen werden in den meisten Bäckereien des Landes, ob kleine Hinterhofbäckereien oder Großbäckereien, hergestellt und verkauft. Sie gelten als Grundnahrungsmittel und sind als Ersatz für Reis zum Bestandteil eines typisch philippinischen Frühstücks geworden. Pan de Sal wird gerne frisch und warm aus dem Ofen konsumiert. Der Verbraucher erwartet eine weiche Krumenstruktur und eine leicht knusprige Kruste mit hellbrauner Färbung.
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

28.1.2016

Algerier haben Faible für französisches Baguette

Algerier lieben französisches Baguette mehr als jede andere Nation. Zwar stehen in dem größten Land des afrikanischen Kontinents auch Couscous und Fladenbrot auf dem täglichen Speiseplan, doch unangefochtener Spitzenreiter unter den Weizenprodukten ist Stangenweißbrot à la française. Hochrechnungen zufolge gehen jeden Tag 49 Millionen Baguettes über die Ladentheke; somit verzehrt jeder der 38 Millionen Algerier im Durchschnitt täglich mehr als seine Stange Weißbrot. Angesichts dieser Mengen sieht der Konsum in Frankreich regelrecht dürftig aus: Franzosen kommen auf weniger als ein Baguette am Tag.
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

14.10.2015

Irans Konsumenten finden Geschmack an westlichen Brotspezialitäten

Fladenbrot ist im Iran die unangefochtene Nummer 1 beim Brotverzehr. Doch vor allem die Mittelschicht zeigt auch ein wachsendes Interesse an Produkten nach westlicher Backtradition. Mit dem Einstieg in dieses Sortiment können iranische Bäckereien eine interessante Nische besetzen, da die so genannten Fantasybrote im Gegensatz zum subventionierten Fladenbrot keiner staatlichen Preisbindung unterliegen.
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

4.9.2015

Pão francês: brasilianische Brötchen mit französischer Geschichte

Pão francês, übersetzt „französisches Brot“, ist das meist verkaufte Brot in Brasilien. Allerdings erwartet kein brasilianischer Verbraucher, dass ihm in der Bäckerei ein großer Laib Brot oder ein traditionelles französisches Baguette verkauft wird, sofern er Pão francês verlangt. Stattdessen bekommt man helle Weizenbrötchen, die lediglich aus historischen Gründen einen französischen Beiklang haben. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

4.9.2015

Argentinier bevorzugen traditionell hergestelltes Kastenbrot ohne Kruste

Argentiniens Verbraucher greifen am liebsten zu krustenfreiem Kastenbrot, das sie in kleinen Handwerksbäckereien kaufen und als belegtes Sandwich verzehren. Wichtige Qualitätsmerkmale dieser Brote sind eine möglichst weiße Farbe, eine lange Frischhaltung und eine homogene, feine Porung. Bei der Herstellung muss besonders auf eine ausreichende Knetung und angepasste Teigbereitung geachtet werden, um die geforderte gleichmäßige Krumenstruktur zu erzielen. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

8.5.2015

Roggenbrote: Teigsäuerung aus Geschmacksgründen auch bei enzymarmen Mehlen unverzichtbar

Roggenmehl ist aus Deutschlands Mühlen und Backstuben nicht wegzudenken. Die deutschen Verbraucher lieben ihre dunklen, rustikalen Roggenbrote, die je nach Sorte zwischen 50 und 100 Prozent Roggenmehl enthalten. Die Qualität dieser Mehle hat sich in den letzten Jahren allerdings deutlich verändert. Vor allem der niedrige Enzymgehalt kann bei gesäuerten Teigen Probleme machen. Abhilfe schaffen eine gezielte Anpassung der Teigbereitung und eine adäquate Mehlbehandlung. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

7.5.2015

Die volkswirtschaftlichen Effekte der Mehlanreicherung mit Folsäure

Mühlenchemie setzt sich für eine verpflichtende Mehlanreicherung mit Folsäure ein, um die Zahl der von Missbildungen des Rückenmarkskanals betroffenen Neugeborenen – derzeit in Europa ca. 5.500 pro Jahr – zu halbieren. Dr. Lutz Popper hat am 22. April 2015 anlässlich der 20th International Scientific Conference "Healthy grain for a healthy diet" einen Vortrag gehalten ("The Economic Impact of Flour Fortification with Folate"). 
Vortrag (englisch)
Veranstaltung

Illustration

15.4.2015

Pasta: Dynamischer Wachstumsmarkt für Nigerias Mühlen

Pasta ist in Nigeria eines der wichtigsten und beliebtesten Grundnahrungsmittel. Ein Großteil der nigerianischen Müllerei hat sich auf diesen Trend längst eingestellt und betreibt eigene Pasta-Fabriken. Bei der Produktion kommt nicht nur Durum zum Einsatz, häufig wird auch Mehl aus Hart- oder Weichweizen beigemischt. Um dennoch Pasta in authentischer „Al dente“-Qualität herzustellen, müssen Prozesstechnik, Rezeptur und Mehlbehandlung optimal aufeinander abgestimmt sein. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

15.4.2015

Chinesisches steamed bread: Mehlqualität ist ausschlaggebender Qualitätsfaktor

Steamed bread ist in weiten Teilen Chinas ein beliebtes Grundnahrungsmittel, das es in vielen Varianten gibt und welches gerne zum Frühstück oder als Snack für zwischendurch verzehrt wird. Die Verbraucher erwarten ein großes Volumen, eine möglichst weiße Oberfläche, eine feine Krumenstruktur und eine symmetrische Form. Neben der Rezeptur und der Aufbereitung spielt die Beschaffenheit des Mehls eine entscheidende Rolle für die Qualität der Endprodukte. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)

Illustration

30.1.2015

Freigeschobenes Weißbrot bleibt Ungarns unangefochtener Spitzenreiter

Beim Brotkauf sind die ungarischen Verbraucher wenig experimentierfreudig: Sie greifen am liebsten zu traditionellem, hellen Weizenbrot und bevorzugen gute, günstige Standardware mit einer lockeren Krume und hohem Volumen. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)
Textfassung (deutsch)

Illustration

30.1.2015

„Neue Dimension unseres Servicespektrums“

Mühlenchemie, Spezialist für enzymatische Wirkstoff-Compounds für Pasta-Mehle, baut mit der Inbetriebnahme eines Pasta-Technikums sein Engagement im Bereich der Teigwaren deutlich aus. In einer engen Verknüpfung von Rohstoff- und Anlagen- Knowhow sieht das deutsche Unternehmen einen zukunftsträchtigen Weg, um Innovationen und Produktoptimierungen für den Pasta-Markt voranzutreiben. PASTA-Magazin wollte vom Forschungs- und Entwicklungsleiter Dr. Lutz Popper Genaueres über die Visionen des Global Players wissen. 
Original-Artikel (englisch)
Textfassung (deutsch)

Mühlenchemie Produktvideo (englisch), Februar 2014

Starke Qualität mit schwachem Weizen – EMCEgluten Enhancer

Das Team rund um Forschungs- und Entwicklungsleiter Dr. Lutz Popper bei der Suche nach der optimalen Mehlbehandlung für Mischungen von zwei Getreidesorten mit unterschiedlichem Proteingehalt. Der Film veranschaulicht exemplarisch die Vorgehensweise der Experten, die nach aufwändigen Rheologie- und Backversuchen für ihre Kunden wirtschaftliche Lösungen finden.

Mühlenchemie Unternehmensfilm, November 2011

Mehlverbesserung weltweit –
vom Kundenproblem zur Mühlenchemie-Lösung

NDR Fernsehbeitrag, Februar 2011

Von der Mehlverbesserung zum Mehlsackmuseum

Volkmar Wywiol dokumentiert das Kulturerbe der internationalen Gemeinschaft der Müller.